top of page

Finding the light in the darkness of the patriarchy


Yeah. So. Obviously, men have been effing up our world for a while now. Since the dawn of our times, men have held the power. And while many men are truly woke allies, it's upsetting how many people (sadly, some women too) would rather see us regress into the Handmaid's Tale than live a life of equality. Sometimes I wonder if maybe it was different during the cavepeople era when no one really know what they were anyway, right? But most likely, the cavewomen were oppressed then too, while the cavemen were out cracking open a cold one with the boys.

As a human female, I am painfully aware of my place on this Earth. I, like all women, work everyday to fight the narrative working against me and have to force people to take me seriously. What doesn't help is when mofos like Brett Kavanaugh go into a live court hearing and blast a woman accusing him of sexual assault. Before I go any further I feel it's important to get a few things off my chest: First, SEXUAL ASSAULT ACCUSATIONS ARE NEVER TO BE TAKEN LIGHTLY. WHEN SOMEONE ACCUSES SOMEONE OF ASSAULT IN ANY FORM IT MEANS THEIR BODY WAS INVADED BY AN OUTSIDER AGAINST THEIR WISHES. Literally, how republicans don't EVER seem to take this seriously is extremely upsetting to me. @men: do you know what it's like to already have to prove yourself TWENTY-FOUR SEVEN, and then when something traumatic happens to you that has affected your mental, physical and emotional well-being for THIRTY-SIX YEARS, you have a bunch of old-white men who have probably, (clearly) never suffered assault or even been cat-called on a street, telling you that they don't believe you.... WHAT IS THAT!!!!??! Our justice system is seriously whack, and it never ceases to astound me that no matter how far we come we still have so far to go. How is it so easy to believe the story of one man over the stories of multiple women?

ALAS, if there's anything I've learned this past week, or month or life, it's that women are strong. We are so strong.

To quote my high school english teacher: "Women GIVE BIRTH TO BABIES." I'd like to see a man try and push a child out of their genitals. It's been proven throughout history that no matter how many times we are beaten down, we always get back up. We have banned together to win the right to education, the right to vote, the right to divorce, the right to own property and the right to abortion. Everyday, I am surrounded by powerful women in government, movies, life, and I am reminded that together we can.

So as a personal pick-me-up, I've compiled some of the most powerful (and humorous) tweets I've seen this week that prove women will come back in full force:

 

In the wise words of Dumbledore......


bottom of page