top of page

Surviving the Apocalypse


These days I feel like one out of every five pieces of television content (shows and movies) are post-apocalyptic. Think about it. You've got The 100, The Walking Dead, Fear the Walking Dead, Under the Dome (a fail,) The Handmaid's Tale and Zoo (another fail.) Then there are all the movies: Divergent, Maze Runner, Mad Max Fury Road, Snowpiercer, The Hunger Games- most of which have only come out in recent years. (And this is without counting the numerous classics that I don't even know about.)

Basically it seems like we either have an extreme obsession with the death of humanity or we just really like zombies. Or, maybe it's because we know the human race knows is at fault for the impending doom of our planet. Honestly, whatever the reason, I'm here for it. I soak UP all that post-apocalyptic content. It truly fascinates me to imagine what it would look like for a society to rebuild itself after a nuclear war, or the uprising of a fanatical group, or the heating of the Earth's atmosphere. The constant testing of the different emotional and animalistic layers that lives within each of us- I love it. I love observing the different lengths we would go to, to protect the ones we love. So in lieu of this post-apocalyptic obsession, I've created a guide to surviving the apocalypse:

Fool-proof Guide to Surviving the Apocalypse and becoming a freaking BOSS:

Step 1: Choose the scenario. In my humble opinion, I do think that if humans do not change our ways, we are going to end up destroying the planet. Forget zombies. We are either going to be drowning in the rising sea levels or walking around a scorched dead Earth.

Step 2: Choose your look. When you're trying to survive the apocalypse, nobody has time to worry about changing clothes, or showering. Most likely, you're going to be in one look, with one hair-do for the rest of your days. So, when your OOTD turns into your Outfit for the Rest of Your Time on Earth (OFTROYTOE), you best hope you picked one that is both cute and functional. Most likely it'll be some sort of pants-jacket pairing, but you never know. (Personally, I'd be worried about my skin exploding in acne from the lack of bathing and moisturizing.)

Step 3: Choose your personality trait. I know, I know, we are all complicated, multi-faceted individuals and have layers of emotion like an onion. But, when you're fighting for your life everyday, you basically only have time for one skill/trait that you utilize with your survival group. One person has to be the smart one, one person has to cook, one person better be brave to ward off god knows what, and somebody needs to have some leadership skills or else nothing will happen. I'd like to think my trait would be "comedic relief," but I know in my heart I would probably just crawl in a ball and die.

Step 4: Choose your lover. If you're single during the apocalypse, then you better link up fast, honey, before all the good ones are gone. If you are married, or already in a relationship, chances are high that you may lose your loved one at some point. I'd suggest laying eyes on a few possible backup options, because no one wants to go through an apocalypse alone. Although, there is a good probability of partner switching, so never fear if you have a bad hookup too early into the apocalypse.

Step 5: Choose your death scenario. Sorry, I know it's morbid. But we all know there's like a 95% chance that you will die at some point throughout your journey so you can hope it's at least a memorable one. Also, selflessness and selfishness seem to accompany apocalypses like a side salad, so be prepared to be betrayed or to have the sudden urge to risk everyone else's life to save yourself. Types of deaths could include, dying in combat, running into a pile of zombies, running into fire, jumping in front of a bullet to save someone you love or eating a poisonous berry to avoid one of the above options. All excellent choices!

(Disclaimer: If I'm being honest, the only way I'd survive post-apocalypse would be if the apocalypse had to do with spaceships or nuclear war, because then I can just run and hide. Zombies- I'm out. Black plague- I'm out. Anything like the scary alien things in I Am Legend- I'm out.)


bottom of page